My favourite buys from 2023!

Hi everyone!

Every year in summer I write this post and so, I was motivated to do so again this year. It is fun to see the things I bought and how it differs a bit every year. Last year I had bought quite a few Moitie pieces, this year a little less and surprisingly my favourites end up being all over the place including even an IW piece, a brand I hadn’t paid much attention in a long time. I hope you enjoy seeing my favorite buys🖤

1. Bodyline Medieval OP with hood

The first thing I wanted to show as a favorite is this old Bodyline OP that looks very medieval. There is no trace from it on Lolibrary. It is made from soft velour and had a hood, next to some interesting sleeves. I really love the vibes this piece gives, reminds me of teenage me going to fantasy fairs. It is a bit harder to coord in lolita, so wear it mostly casually now, but am excited to try and give it a proper coord soon!🖤

2. Jane Marple Autumn Rose set AKA the caveman set

Another favorite I had to include is this Jane Marple caveman set. It is very oldschool and just looks so interesting, I cannot help but love it. The skirt is actually super versatile and perfect for work, it is mostly the top that is a challenge haha. Together it looks really fun and it is just iconic, I need it to be colder for me to wear it out as a set and have fun being a cave lolita😂

3. Moi Meme Moitie Velveteen Rectangle Headdresses

I have been searching for this particular black headdress since forever, so when I found it this year, I was absolutely overjoyed. I was also finally able to get a cream Moitie headdress and feel so happy to have both these colourways now! Definitely feel these will get worn a lot and in many different ways. Only wishlist item left is a full white rectangle headdress from Moitie and then my headwear game is complete.

4. Innocent World Velveteen Floral Bustle Skirt

This skirt had been on my wishlist for quite a while, so when my friend offered it to me, I didn’t hesitate for a second! I love how full and long it is, how the florals are printed on the velvet and the best part, the most luxurious bustle in the back. Truly a wonderful skirt that I will be wearing all winter.

5. Marble Velveteen Tartan OP

This dress had been lurking on Fril forever and I kept seeing it go down in price until it was a price I was willing to pay, so I snapped it up. I was thrilled when it arrived and discovered the cut fit me so wonderfully! It has a long torso and small skirt that starts quite low with poofing out. Barely fits a petticoat, doesn’t really need one, but still has a very old school silhouette. I really love it and am excited to wear this a lot too when the weather allows it.

6. H.Naoto Blood Roses JSK

This was a bit of an impulse purchase from a friend, I just sold some H.Naoto Blood pieces for not fitting me right, so this was was a “last chance for this brand” kinda buy haha. I truly loved the print and the rough edges, so went for it. And in true faith, this one fits wonderfully and feels like it is made for me. I wear this a lot to work and it is so comfortable! When worn, a little bit of the lining shows at the bottom, but I think that is quite charming. I also think this looks better worn than here haha.

7. Metamorphose Venetian Flare OP

This had been on my wishlist for years, so when it became available, I immediately bid on the auction and then obsessively checked the auction until closing. Still so happy I won! This is again a long dress with a perfect fit, really pretty sleeves and I also love the pleats detailing. Truly a perfect dress for goth looks.

8. Summer Tales Vinyl Cross JSK (custom)

This was a collaboration project with my dear friends Katie from Summer Tales and Anne. We were all obsessed with the illustration of this dress in the first Gothic Lolita Bible and when Katie started working with vinyl, we thought it would be perfect to see the illustration come alive. After many discussions on how it should look, she made two dresses. A black one with white crosses for me and a white one with black crosses for Anne. It is truly a wonderful and sentimental piece for me, with just a perfect fit, I cannot state enough how much I love this!

9. Neant Glass necklaces

I had the opportunity to commission two necklaces from Neant Glass as a commemoration of my father’s passing 10 years ago this year. I wanted two necklaces that both represented him and I truly had the most wonderful experience working with Kei, the Neant Glass designer. I truly felt so understood and she made two pieces that truly encapsulate my memories with my father and for that, I am forever grateful🙏 Truly the most sentimental and meaningful jewelry I own.

10. Metamorphose Long Jacquard OP

This just arrived two days ago and am still struggling to write down how happy I am to own this iconic Metamorphose piece.. It is truly wonderful, beautiful quality and just everything. I will wear her out soon and am still in disbelief this is my dress now. Will treasure her forever.

Thank you for looking at my favorite purchases with me for yet another year! I hope you enjoyed it. Also I thought it was neat to see my favorite purchases together and just take the time to really appreciate them, seeing them all together just makes my heart flutter! Lolita fashion just has this super special place in my heart always 🖤

1 thought on “My favourite buys from 2023!

  1. causticfish

    I really love all the custom pieces. That Glassworks is absolutely gorgeous, and the dress is so stunning! The vinyl is such a cool touch, and such an interesting fabric to see in a coord.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a comment